This edifice was six bays wide on Grand Street when it was constructed in 1872—the date placed in the curved pediment above its facade. When owner James Fisher enlarged the building in 1883, he repeated the same design for a new three- bay section along the western edge of the Grand Street side with relative ease, since the patterns for cast iron elements could be re-used. The now off-center pediment remains visible proof of this addition.
The Lindsay, Graff, and Megquier foundry cast both sections. Its plaque can still be seen along Grand Street, slightly below eye level on the westernmost building element. Such plaques provided the firm with prominent free advertising.