(altered to iron facade in 1901, architect unknown)
the last iron front in the district
This was the last iron front erected in the SoHo-Cast Iron Historic District. The spare use of the metal supporting the glass facade shows a more sophisticated appreciation of the qualities of iron than is seen in the iron front of the beloved Haughwout Store built a few doors to the south nearly fifty years earlier.
Beginning in 1854, the jewelry firm Tiffany & Co. occupied a marble building on this site. Its graceful ground-floor display windows of glass and iron had been designed by
R. G. Hatfield and cast in the Badger foundry. Over its entrance stood the muscular figure supporting a clock that is still seen above Tiffany’s door today. In 1870 the firm moved into a large new iron palazzo on Union Square. At the turn of the century the showy Victorian marble facade at 550 Broadway was removed and updated with the iron-and- glass front we see today.